Event Recap: TEN Pop-Up Shopping Party

I was so excited when the fabulous folks over at TEN, an Annapolis, Md.-based boutique personal and event styling service, recently contacted me and invited me to their fall pop-up shopping party. TEN’s motto is “Chic. Affordable. Style.” — read: speaking my fashion language. One of its main goals is to provide a personal shopping service that allows people to take their style sense to the next level without breaking the bank.

Talk that (affordable fashion) talk: Spotted this sign hanging while I shopped.
Talk that (affordable fashion) talk: Spotted this sign hanging while I shopped.

TEN offers a totally curated shopping experience. Kesha, the owner, handpicks every piece — from outerwear to jewelry to shoes — that’s available for purchase. With the holidays right around the corner, it seems like a no-brainer for any busy working woman based in the D.C., Maryland or Virginia area who doesn’t have to time to shop for the perfect holiday party look to check out TEN.

And even if you aren’t shopping for a holiday party look, it’s worth a visit. Trust me, your wallet will thank you. I scored a blazer, a pair of pants, a blouse, some opaque tights, socks and a set of super cute PJs for well under $50.

Racks and racks full of stylish finds. Most items were $25 or less.
Racks and racks full of stylish finds. Most items were $25 or less.

I had the chance to talk with Kesha about the vision behind TEN, which fall fashion trend she thinks every woman should try and more. See an edited version of our chat below and check out the pics I snapped while at the event.

Why inspired you to open TEN?

Many of my family and friends were always in awe of my shopping skills. They were blown away by the low prices I was able to find.  I was frequently asked: Where did you find that? OMG, that’s all you paid for that? Can you find me X-Y-Z for a good price?

Snacks while I shop? Yes, please!
Snacks while I shop? Yes, please!

I love shopping and styling on a budget, but I do not like anything [that I buy] to look “cheap.” My definition of a sale is 70-90% off — and everything goes on sale. Be patient and wait for the sale!

Which fall fashion trend do you think every woman should try this season?

Not necessarily a trend, but rather a fall/winter must-have: a chic jacket or coat with a unique detail or hardware.

The pop-up space was decorated with a modern minimalist vibe using shades of black, white and gold.
The pop-up space was decorated with a modern minimalist vibe using shades of black, white and gold.

What’s your favorite fashion item right now?

I love a good pair of jeans. They are so versatile and can be dressed up for a night on the town or down when comfort is key. I’m always on the lookout for jeans when shopping as they’re a staple in most everyone’s closet. I believe in shopping anywhere and everywhere for jeans. All stores have skinny, straight, boyfriend, distressed and flare fits. I’d recommend taking a look at Sears selection. You’d be surprised at what you’ll find.

Who’s your favorite designer?

I believe quality and style trump brand name. So if a piece is chic, affordable and stylish I love it. I will say designer collaborations at department stores are always a good idea. Wait until the items go on clearance and get the look for significantly less. Target, Kohl’s and JCPenney have great designer collaborations.

Follow Kesha and TEN on social media: @tenshopten on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook
Follow Kesha and TEN on social media: @tenshopten on Twitter, Instagram and Facebook

What do you hope your clients takeaway from the shopping experience at TEN versus going to a mall on their own?

I think shopping should be an “experience” complete with affordable, stylish items, snacks, good music and good people. My goal for TEN is to create beautiful experiences and backdrops for life’s most important occasions (i.e., weddings, birthdays, graduations, etc.).

To learn more about TEN and to get on the mailing list for their next shopping party, go to www.tenshopten.com.

Keep it stylish,

Andrea, S&P Founder and Editor


Leave a Reply

