Indulging in an At-Home Facial

Since turning 30, I’ve definitely become more aware of the overall condition of my skin and have made steps to improve my skincare routine. For starters, I have committed to drinking more water. I also treat myself to at-home facials once a week. My “Facial Day” is a full-out experience. Seriously. It involves cleansing, toning, steaming and wearing a mask. One thing I’ve noticed is that the order in which I use my skincare products has a major effect on how well they work on my skin.

Here’s a step-by-step breakdown of the eight skincare products I use each week when doing my facials:

1. Lightweight Cleanser: I like to use my hands to apply and cleanse my face with a lightweight cleanser. For me, the cleanser has to be fragrance-free, gentle on the skin and amazing at removing makeup. This step is my first attempt at removing any dirt and makeup that is on the surface of my skin, so that I can follow-up with a more aggressive cleanse.

Caudalie Gentle Cleansing Milk
Caudalie Gentle Cleansing Milk

TRY THIS: Caudalie Gentle Cleansing Milk, $28, caudalie.com

2. Targeted Cleanser + Motorized Face Brush: Once my face is rinsed, I follow-up with a cleanser that caters to my specific skin type (combination oily) and use a motorized cleaning brush to deep clean the pores and crevices of my face. I always make sure to pay special attention to my jaw area and hairline.

Biore Deep Pore Charcoal Facial Cleanser
Biore Deep Pore Charcoal Facial Cleanser

TRY THIS: Biore Deep Pore Charcoal Facial Cleanser, $5.99, target.com

3. Facial Scrub: Once my face is squeaky clean, I use an exfoliator to remove dead skin cells and polish my skin. I tend to go for  scrubs that have medium-sized granules for a deep clean.

Acure Organics Brightening Facial Scrub
Acure Organics Brightening Facial Scrub

TRY THIS: Acure Organics Brightening Facial Scrub, $9.99, target.com

4. Toner: Next, I douse cotton ball in toner and apply it to my face and neck. Toner helps calm my skin and removes any excess granules from the scrub. I swipe the toner on my face, as well as the back of my neck and behind my ears.

Kiehl's Ultra Facial Toner
Kiehl’s Ultra Facial Toner

TRY THIS: Kiehl’s Ultra Facial Toner, $16.00, kiehls.com

5. Face Steam: This step is totally optional, but makes a big difference! I’ve sworn by facial steaming since receiving one for Christmas. It really helps to open my pores and makes my skin feel rejuvenated. I steam for about 10 minutes — and if I happen to be suffering from a breakout or have redness I add a few drops of essential oils or lemon juice. Once I’m done, I pat my skin dry with a towel.

Secura Nano Ionic NanoCare Facial Steamer
Secura Nano Ionic NanoCare Facial Steamer

TRY THIS: Secura Nano Ionic NanoCare Facial Steamer, $35, amazon.com

6. Face Mask: By this step, my pores are open and ready to be tightened back up. I like to apply a firming and tightening mask to shrink the appearance of my pores. I’ll leave the mask on for 15 to 20 minutes, then wipe it off with a warm washcloth. Doing this helps make my skin look silky smooth.

Queen Helene Masque Mint Julep Mask
Queen Helene Masque Mint Julep Mask

TRY THIS: Queen Helene Masque Mint Julep Mask, $3.99, walgreens.com

7. Serums & Eye Cream: Now is the time to apply any serums. I like to use one for my smile lines and around my eyes. It’s important to apply these products before using moisturizer, because you really want the skin to absorb it.

Clinique Repairwear Laser Focus
Clinique Repairwear Laser Focus

TRY THIS: Clinique Repairwear Laser Focus, $49.50 (1 oz. bottle), clinique.com

8. Moisturizer: I finish the process by moisturizing my entire face. If I’m doing this facial right before bed, I go for one that has overnight rejuvenating properties.

Origins Starting Over Moisturizer
Origins Starting Over Moisturizer

TRY THIS: Origins Starting Over Moisturizer, $51, origins.com

Love, peace and beauty,

Kimberly, S&P Beauty Contributor


One thought on “Indulging in an At-Home Facial

Leave a Reply

