When It’s *Still* Cold Outside . . .

It’s kind of hard to get excited about spring fashion when snow (yes, it snowed *again* this past weekend) and barely 50-degree days are still the norm in mid-April. My go-to winter coat is still in high demand, as well as a few of my blanket scarves and opaque tights. I want it to stop. Seriously.

I haven’t swapped out all of the winter clothes in my closet yet, because right now it seems pointless. It can literally be 70-degrees on Monday then turnaround and be bitterly cold with blustery winds by Friday here in the D.C.-area.

On days when the weather actually warms up a few degrees, I’ll layer upΒ and try to channel spring as much as I can without looking crazy. There are several spring-y pieces that I wear interchangeably with some of my winter staples (think: chunky knit sweaters and cardigans) that are getting me through my spring fashion withdrawal. They include:

1. Trench Coat

What I'm Wearing: The Trenchcoat

A trench coat is super easy to wear over a chunky knit sweater like the look I’m wearing here. For those transitional days, when temps are much cooler than expected, you can layer underneath without it looking bulky.

2. Longline Vest

What I'm Wearing: Longline Vest

One of the reasons why I love longline vests so much is that they work no matter the season. In the winter, you can wear it with a turtleneck and jeans. Come spring/early-summer, rock it with a tank top and mini skirt.

During those in-between day when I can get away with not wearing a jacket, I’ll throw one on with a long-sleeve fitted t-shirt and an eternity scarf with skinny jeans and heels or flats.

3. Flat Ankle Booties

What I'm Wearing: The Trenchcoat

I’m so over wearing knee-length boots, but with this weather boots are still very necessary. My happy medium is a flat ankle bootie. They work great with ankle-length pants, especially when it’s still not warm enough to wear pants without socks or tights.

4. Slim-Fit Ankle Pant

What I'm Wearing: A Layered Look

Ankle-length pants are a great transitional piece, because when it warms up you can ditch your trouser socks. And, honestly, we all know nothing screams “spring has finally sprung” than going bare ankle in a pair of pants.

Keep it stylish,

Andrea, S&P Founder and Editor


One thought on “When It’s *Still* Cold Outside . . .

Leave a Reply

