Sleep Your Way to Better Skin

Getting a full night’s rest is the foundation for healthy, glowing skin. Not only do you feel more refreshed after a full 8 hours, but proper sleep habits give your skin cells enough time to replenish and thrive. During the day, the skin is exposed to so many pollutants and irritants. So “beauty sleep” is not just a luxury — it’s a necessity.

No matter your skin type, there are cardinal rules for nighttime skincare thatt should be followed by all. Here are five key tips for achieving that flawless glow:

Nighttime Skincare Tips

1. Cleansing

Removing any and all makeup before you hit the sack is a must. If you’ve got dry skin, keeping it clean *and* moisturized is essential. Use a product with a high moisture content and consider skipping the harsh soapy cleansers for a non-foaming version. I’m currently using Caudalie’s Gentle Cleansing Milk ($28). It’s gentle enough to keep good oils in the skin, but also tough enough to remove makeup. 

If you have oily skin, use a cleanser or scrub with salicylic acid to help control oil. I would also follow up with a toner for problem areas. I have an oily nose and use Carol’s Daughter Acai Clarifying Exfoliating Toner ($8). I also exfoliate every other day with Garnier Clean Blackhead Eliminating Scrub ($8) to slough away dead skin cells and keep my skin bright.

2. Eye Creams/Moisturizer

No matter how young or old you are, using a daily eye cream is good thing. The eyes are usually the first to show signs of aging, because the skin there is very delicate with little fat. If not properly treated, the area around your eyes will show sleep deprivation, lack of skin moisture, discoloration, as well as lines and wrinkles.

Eye creams contain tons of anti-aging and soothing properties, which are actually good for the entire face. I use Dead Sea Treatment Aloe Vera Eye Cream ($20) for my entire face and the AMAD Eye Contour Balm specifically for my eye area. I dab it on using my ring finger . . . (don’t tug!) and let it absorb overnight.

If you really want to treat your skin, try an overnight skin repair serum. Lately, I’ve been too frugal to buy one, but I’ve been dying to purchase the Estee Lauder Advanced Night Repair Synchronized Recovery Complex II ($62) after testing out a sample. 

3. Neck Care

Since your face technically starts at your collarbone, it’s important not to forget about your decollete area, which includes the neck and collarbone. The neck is another area that will show signs of aging. I wouldn’t dream of using a beauty oil as a facial moisturizer, because of my oily nose issue, but I do use one for my neck. I’m loving Mitchell and Peach Fine Radiance Face Oil ($47) right now. I rub on two to three drops to my neck to help maintain elasticity and glow. 

4. Moisturize the Lips

Lastly, give your lips some love after a week full of power meetings and coffee drinking. Swipe on a bit of balm before bed to keep your pout soft and pillowy. I’m using the Naked Lips Organic Lip Balm in Peppermint ($6). It smells amazing!

5. Ready, Set Sleep!

Now that your skin is ready to kick cell production into overdrive. Help it along by learning to sleep on your back. After years and years of pillow smushing, it’s easy for the skin to develop lines and tension. Try to fall asleep on your back with your head elevated and stay put!

Love, peace and beauty,

Kimberly, S&P Beauty Contributor


One thought on “Sleep Your Way to Better Skin

  1. Reblogged this on blushandsuch and commented:
    I am a beauty contributor for Stylin N’ Profilin which in my opinion is like a fashion magazine on the web! Take a look at this weeks post about nighttime skin care and poke around some other fashion posts, it’s fabulous!

Leave a Reply

