Beauty Products I Love: January Favorites

New year, old products.

Let me explain: Thanks to a resolution to get my financial house in order, I’ve been on a bit of a spending fast. That means no daily Starbucks (who was I kidding with the daily Starbucks, anyway?) and no cosmetic binges.

I did have the good fortune to win a beauty-related raffle last month. That unexpected swag, combined with a few lingering subscription box samples, introduced me to a few things I absolutely love. I’ll definitely be buying them saving up to buy them soon!

Below are my latest favorites, plus a budget-friendly item I’m excited to try:

1. Eve Lom Cleanser, $50 for 1.6oz, at Sephora

Beauty Products I Love: January Favorites

I have always wanted to try this raved-about cleanser, but couldn’t justify the expense with the other just-fine cleansers taking up counter space in the bathroom. But I just might have to make room for this one.

Per the instructions, I rub a bit of the paste-like cleanser in my hands, apply it to my face and use a muslin cloth to lightly dab warm water over it. Rinse, repeat. Then, I use the cloth to gently exfoliate my pores and then I shock said pores (and my very sleep face) with a jolt of cold water. It may not be the cleanser you want to use when you’re running late, but this stuff is as good as they say it is. And by “they,” I mean basically everyone.

The price is rather steep, but the good news is that a little goes a long way.

2. Juice Beauty Green Apple Peel™ Sensitive, $39 for 2oz, at Juice Beauty

Juice Beauty Green Apple Peel™ Sensitive, $39 for 2oz, at Juice Beauty

This one has also been on my must-try list for quite some time and I was lucky enough to get it in a subscription box last year. It’s not a peel in the traditional sense — you simply apply, leave on for 10 minutes and then rinse off. My face looks brighter and feels softer as a result — I’ve been doing it twice a week and it’s a welcome addition to my beauty routine.

3. Pixi Eye Bright Liner in Extra Bright, $14 at Target

Pixi Eye Bright Liner in Extra Bright, $14 at Target

Using light eyeliner on my waterline is one of my favorite beauty tricks — it makes the whites of my  eyes appear larger and helps me look super awake, even when I’m not. I’ve tried white, nude and pale purple eyeliners to achieve this effect, but this is the best one I’ve used. I swipe this on my lower waterline and a kohl eyeliner on the upper waterline and, voila, I look like I’m still making those daily Starbucks runs.

4. The Body Shop Sweet Almond Oil Nail Polish Remover, $10 for 3.3 fl oz at The Body Shop

The Body Shop Sweet Almond Oil Nail Polish Remover, $10 for 3.3 fl oz at The Body Shop

I haven’t tried this yet, but I can’t wait to take this for a test run on my often wildly painted nails. I usually use RGB’s nail polish remover pads because they’re non-toxic and work like a charm, but I have trouble keeping the $28 pads in stock. This $10, oil-based formula should help fill in the gaps. And I love that it’s acetone free.

Stay beautiful,

Bethonie, S&P Beauty Contributor


Leave a Reply

