Keep Your (Beauty) Cool

This weekend, I’m embarking on a throwback adventure with my besties. We’re heading to . . . King’s Dominion. With temps slated to be in the 90s, my goal — besides procuring funnel cake and having a blast — is not to sweat my face off. My beauty look will be appropriately low maintenance, but that doesn’t mean I need to abandon all primping. Here’s what I’m planning:

SPF is of course, the most important thing I’ll put on this weekend. I’m taking Clarins Sunscreen Care Oil, which boasts an SPF of 30. Yes, it’s an oil, but it’s not greasy and it can be used on both body and hair. And the spray bottle makes it super convenient for when I need to reapply.

For my face, I’ll use my usual: Cover FX SPF 30 Protection Primer and Laura Mercier  Tinted Moisturizer, which has an SPF of 15.

I really should stockpile this watercolor cheek gelee by Josie Maran. It gives my cheeks a lovely natural flush and stays put when lesser blushes would dissipate in the heat. I layer it on top of my MAC powder blush, which is a dark enough shade that it passes for bronzer.

And to complete my look, I’ll swipe on Maybelline’s classic GreatLash (waterproof, natch!) and Laura Mercier’s SPF 15 lip balm.

The only other thing I’d recommend if you plan on being out in the heat is a facial spray, which serves to set your makeup and can also provide some cooling relief when the sun gets intense. I’ve used Josie Maran’s Rosey Mist and Caudalie’s Beauty Elixir, but I’ve got this well-reviewed herbal spray from Mario Bedescu on my wishlist.

Stay beautiful,

Bethonie, S&P Beauty Contributor


Leave a Reply

