Summer Hair Essentials

I love summer, but I do not like the humidity that comes with it. Luckily, I’ve got a few products in my arsenal that help me tame the frizz. Here is my summer lineup:

Hair Oil

I love this stuff. Whether I straighten my curly/wavy hair or blow dry it straight, I always use an oil. I’ve tried everything from argan to agave oil. Lately, I’ve been using Drybar’s 100 Proof Treatment Oil — it’s lightweight, but tames tresses like a champion. And I love that it’s free of parabens. I also have a bottle of Bumble and Bumble’s Invisible Hairdresser Oil that many swear by.

Drybar 100 Proof Treatment Oil
Drybar 100 Proof Treatment Oil

Dry Shampoo

I never thought I could use dry shampoo — my hair rarely gets greasy and I don’t need any help in the volume department. But after a friend raved about Klorane’s gentle formula, I bought a mini bottle of the stuff. It helps me restore blowouts if I’ve worked up a sweat or have been caught in a drizzle. If you’re looking for volume and glam, try Oribe’s Dry Texturizing Spray.

Klorane Extra Gentle Shampoo Extract
Klorane Extra Gentle Shampoo Extract

THESE Hair Clips . . .

. . . are my new best friends. They come in packs of six for $4.99. Like dry shampoo, I’ve long dismissed hair clips as not for my hair. And while I’m not sporting these to brunch on Saturday morning, they’re really handy for helping me while I blow out my hair or keeping my hair out of my face while I’m doing weekend chores.

Hot Tools 4" Metal Clips
Hot Tools 4″ Metal Clips

Bobby Pins

Sunnie Brook, a makeup artist and beauty blogger, recommends these sturdy bobbies from Burman, often used to style the hair of Hollywood starlets. They’re matte so they lie flat and stay put. Perfect for the elaborate summer braids I’ll be attempting (read: begging my more ambidextrous friends to create for me).

Burman Bobby Pin Set
Burman Bobby Pin Set

Shine Spray

My hair can look pretty dull after days in the sun. So, if I’m going for the blowout, I usually reach for a shine spray to give my hair some extra oomph. My go-to has been Nubian Heritage’s Honey & Black Seed Heat Protect Keratin Spray, but it’s pretty hard to find these days. When my bottle runs out,  I’m excited to try this brazilian nut spray from Kimble Beauty.

Nubian Heritage Honey & Black Seed Heat Protect Keratin Spray
Nubian Heritage Honey & Black Seed Heat Protect Keratin Spray

Stay beautiful,

Bethonie, S&P Beauty Contributor


Leave a Reply

