February Beauty Reads

Read this:

This month, Allure (cover girl: Jennifer Connelly) puts a spotlight on acid peels, expensive skin creams and all-American beauty. I love the way makeup artist, Dotti, described American glamour: “The cornerstone of American beauty is healthy, warm, glowing skin.” Click here for my my tips on achieving that look.

Takeaways include Maybelline’s must-try Color Elixirs, a guide to workday makeup and an updated take on 80s hairstyles.

Pro Tip: “To prevent zits, I do herbal facial steams,” snowboarder Hannah Teter told the magazine. Teter, one of four Olympians interviewed about their winter-proofing habits ahead of the Winter Olympics in Sochi, described her DIY routine: “I heat up a pot of water and throw in chamomile, rose, and green tea. I put a towel over my head and hover over the steam for ten minutes. Afterward, my skin feels fresh, clean and really soft.”

Glamour (cover girl: Shakira) takes a gorgeous look at spring’s vibrant makeup trends from coral cheeks to violet eyeliner and offers a plethora of hairstyle ideas (100 to be exact).

Takeaways include: Genius beauty solutions for tired, puffy faces (eye creams, eye masks and highlighter) and a guide to pretty hair accessories that won’t make you look like you’re playing dress-up.

Pro tip: Makeup guru Bobbi Brown says face oil is the key to a “subtle sheen” and recommends that you put it on after you do your makeup. “I rub a drop between my fingers and press it into my cheekbones, forehead and chin.” I like Josie Maran’s Argan Oil.

Do this:

A peachy metallic smoky eye screams spring. A cream shadow like RMS Beauty’s Solar will help you achieve the look.

Click this:

Into The Gloss spotlight’s Fashion Month’s backstage favorites. When in doubt, do as the models do.

Download this:

I’m late to the party, but I recently discovered (and fell in love with) the Beautylish app (free on iOS and Android) . In addition to shopping brands like Ilia and Anastasia, you can browse the app’s substantial editorial coverage, photos and reviews/recommendations from community members. My favorite things so far: a primer on Korean beauty spas, a post on how to incorporate food scraps — think banana peels and coffee grinds — into your beauty routine and this natural brush cleaner recommended by industry pros.

Stay beautiful,

Bethonie, S&P Beauty Contributor


Leave a Reply

