Budget Beauty Tips for Hitting the Gym

September is nearly over, but I’ll confess: I’ve still been in summer mode. After a bout of lazy weekends and overindulgent brunches, I’m ready to step up my workout game. I’m sort of ashamed to say that I often put off working out because . . . well, um, I don’t want to mess up my hair.

*covers eyes*

I know that I’m not the only one to feel this way — in fact, a study last year reported that two out of five black women said that they avoid working out because of their hair. I’ve got a few tricks up my sleeve to ensure that my hair isn’t my excuse for skipping the gym. Plus, a few overall tips for looking gorgeous post-workout.

Hair

I have long (not to mention thick and wavy) hair and it’s taken me a few years to realize that a standard-issue ponytail won’t cut it when I’m working out. These days, I put my hair into a bun and use the ingenious Save Your Do wrap ($24.95-$29.95) created by actress Nicole Ari Parker to make sure the sweat won’t cause me to reach for the blow dryer/flat iron when I’m done. The wrap comes in narrow, wide and full-triangle sizes and helps wick away moisture while you’re running, dancing or perfecting your chaturanga.

My hair rarely gets oily, so I used to think I couldn’t use dry shampoo, but that changed when a friend put me on to Klorane’s version ($18), which features Oat Milk and has a cooling effect on my tresses. It’s the perfect post-workout product if you find one that works for you.

Need more ideas? The experts at Fitness Magazine have great ideas for keeping your hairstyle in check while you’re working out.

Face

It may be tempting to wear makeup to the gym (especially if you’re eyeing one of your fellow gym members), but it’s not necessary. Rest assured that no amount of cosmetics can compete with that post-workout glow. But if you want to primp a bit before you hit the treadmill, there’s a smart way to do it. This guide from Allure notes that you’ll want to keep products light pre-workout and make sure you reach for gentle products post-workout.

Klorane Soothing Makeup Remover Wipes, $11, drugstore.com
Klorane Soothing Makeup Remover Wipes, $11, drugstore.com

Blogger-turned-entrepreneur Michelle Phan has a pretty sweet prescription for workout makeup — waterproof mascara for your (curled!) eyelashes and tinted lip balm. That’s all you need! Equally important, is what you put on your face when you’re done working out. I always keep these makeup remover wipes from Klorane ($11) in my bag — they’re gentle and effective. If you prefer to really wash your face, reach for a noncomedogenic cleanser like Cetaphil ($18.54).

Body

This is partially unchartered territory for me because I’ve yet to master the lunchtime (read: no shower) workout. But it can be done if you are prepared. Make sure you have body wipes on hand, your favorite deodorant and a clean, dry set of clothes to change into. This hilarious XO Vain post recommends Lush’s well-reviewed Silky Underwear dusting powder ($6.95). I’ve never tried it, but count me intrigued.

Stay beautiful,

Bethonie, S&P Beauty Contributor


Leave a Reply

