My Current Beauty Obsessions

A wise woman named Regina George once put it perfectly: Why are you so obsessed with me? All “Mean Girls” references aside, it’s easy to fall into a healthy obsession when you find a beauty product that works for you.

Here are a few that are currently on my beauty must list:

1. Nars Velvet Gloss Lip Pencil in Mexican Rose ($24)

I bought this lip gloss without trying it on first. Somehow I knew it would look great. It’s a bright pink and it looks oh so chic with just a little bronzer and mascara. If Mexican Rose isn’t your shade, Nars offers a wide range of colors from a rosy nude to a gold-toned coral. They also have a great matte lip pencil.

It's a 10 Miracle Deep Conditioner Plus Keratin, $14.19, amazon.com
It’s a 10 Miracle Deep Conditioner Plus Keratin, $14.19, amazon.com

2. Bite Beauty Whipped Cherry Lip Scrub ($18)

If you’ve never tried a lip scrub, it might sound silly. But it’s worth investing in one if you want to keep your pout looking pretty, especially if you’re prone to chapped lips. This one smells good enough to eat and it helps slough off dead skin, while moisturizing your lips. It’s worth mentioning that Sara Happ is the reigning queen of lip scrubs (her pots retail for $24) with flavors ranging from brown sugar to red velvet. If you have Sugar In The Raw on hand, you can create a DIY scrub by rubbing it across your lips. Follow with your favorite lip balm.

3. One Love Easy Does It Foaming Cleanser ($29)

It’s easy to neglect cleaning your face at night, but it’s one of the easiest ways to keep your skin in check. I love this gentle cleanser for its sweet apple scent and ability to keep my face clear and moisturized. The price point is a bit on the higher end for a facial cleanser, but the 8.8 oz. bottle goes a long way.

4. It’s a 10 Miracle Deep Conditioner Plus Keratin ($14.19 on Amazon)

I have really thick hair that’s been through several color changes, too many relaxers to count and a couple keratin treatments. I haven’t done anything major to my hair in a couple years, so I look for products that help me keep it hydrated while minimizing frizz. I leave this mask in for about 20 minutes and when I rinse it out my curls are soft and manageable. And if I reach for my flat iron, it helps me get my tresses super straight

This isn’t a beauty product, but I recently saw a group called Quadron open for the lovely Lianne La Havas at Summerstage in New York City and I can’t stop listening to them. I especially love their song “Hey Love.” It’s a great song to have on while you’re getting ready. And as you can see from the video below, the group’s lead singer, Coco O, knows how to rock a fierce red lip.

READERS’ TAKE: What are your beauty obsessions? Share in the comments section.

Stay beautiful,

Bethonie, S&P Beauty Contributor


Leave a Reply

