Beauty Tips: Happy Hour How-to

I love a good happy hour, but I’ll admit I’m not always the most game when it comes to a last-minute invite to get drinks after work. That’s usually because by the time 6:00 rolls around, I know I don’t look as fresh-faced as I did when I got to work. And the allure of going home, donning my PJs and curling up to watch “Pretty Little Liars” starts to look pretty good to me.

One of my goals for this summer is to be less of a flake and more willing to head out at a moment’s notice. That means I need to be able to upgrade my look in less than 10 minutes. Which reminds me, dear make-up bag: I think you have a hoarding problem.

NARS Velvet Matte Lip Pencil, $25, sephora.com
NARS Velvet Matte Lip Pencil, $25, sephora.com

I tagged along with Andrea to “The Devil Wear’s Prada” author Lauren Weisberger’s book signing for “Revenge Wears Prada,” the sequel to her novel-turned-film. Amid the stylish mini cupcakes and chic cocktails, there was a NARS primping station. With “Prada’s” famed editrix Miranda Priestly in mind, I braved a slow-moving line in high heels. Once I got in the chair (oh, thank God, the chair!) I took notes. Here’s what you’ll need to kick up your beauty routine after a long day at work:

The Right Lip Pencil

Lip pencils are great because they pack a good punch of color and you generally don’t need to apply anything else to your lips. At the book signing event, I tried NARS Velvet Matte Lip Pencil in Damned. The rich burgundy color garnered ooohs and aaahs from the women nearby, so I knew my mini makeover was going in the right direction. Damned is more of a fall color, so the makeup artist added a thin coat of NARS lipgloss in Candy Says to add more dimension.

NARS Blush in Orgasm, $29, beauty.com
NARS Blush in Orgasm, $29, beauty.com

A Quick Swipe of Blush

The makeup artist went with NARS tried-and-true Orgasm blush (even Drake knows about this stuff).

A Good Illuminator

I’ve mentioned before how a good illuminator can instantly pump up your look. So, I wasn’t surprised when the makeup artist dabbed NARS illuminator in Copacabana (an iridescent-looking pearl color) onto my cheeks. Hello, cheekbones!

And just like that, you’re ready for a very happy hour. Cheers!

Stay beautiful,

Bethonie, S&P Beauty Contributor


Leave a Reply

