Food + Beauty

I’m a sucker for a good DIY beauty treatment. Like many from the beauty-obsessed set, I turn to food products that are already in my kitchen. I’ve tried raw organic honey and olive oil in my hair, I’ve softened chapped lips with raw sugar and I’ve even rubbed strawberries on my face (I’ve read that it has healing properties).

But I don’t always have the time (or bathroom counter space) to whip up homemade concoctions.  Luckily, many of my favorite beauty buys are based around food products. And there are plenty to be found, from your go-to drugstore to Sephora. This growing trend was the subject of a recent story in The New York Times, which points out that the trend makes sense “in an era of juice detoxes, hand-wringing over added chemicals and fears about unseen contaminants.”

There’s the natural aspect of these products. And on an even more basic level — they usually smell really good. Here are a few of my favorites.

L’Occitane Almond Supple Skin Oil, $40, usa.loccitane.com
L’Occitane Almond Supple Skin Oil, $40, usa.loccitane.com

BODY OIL

You’ll often see almonds in skincare products because they help to soften your skin. I slather L’Occitane Almond Supple Skin Oil ($40) on post-shower and it makes my skin glow. It also claims to help reduce the appearance of stretch marks and help skin look more toned. When I can’t get my hands (read: my wallet) on this oil, I reach for FarmHouse Fresh’s Agave Nectar Ageless Body Oil ($16). I love the sugary scent and the fact that it keeps my skin moisturized and glistening.

CLEANSING TOWELETTES

I hate showering at the gym, so I always have cleansing towelettes in my gym bag. I like Yes to Blueberries Brightening Facial Towelettes. For just $7.99, you can also say yes to grapefruit, tomato, and, well, you get the idea. I also love these soothing cornflower (ok, technically a plant) wipes by Klorane ($11).

LIP CARE

Sara Happ Lip Scrub, $24, nordstrom.com
Sara Happ Lip Scrub, $24, nordstrom.com

I know what you’re thinking. Lip scrub? Trust me when I say you need this in your life. Sara Happ’s popular line of lip scrubs pledge to exfoliate and soften dry, chapped lips. They come in decadent flavors like brown sugar and almond creme. There’s even a red velvet. At $24, it seems like a splurge, but psst . . . I used the same pot religiously for over a year.

If you’re in search of something more budget-friendly, I recommend these delicious lip balms from eos. I’m currently obsessed with the strawberry sorbet. Your lips will feel soft and moisturized for under $4. And I know from my beauty tutorial habit that some beauty mavens use this a lipstick primer.

HAIR CARE

You’ve read enough instructions for avocado and mayonnaise hair masks to know that certain foods can help you maintain a healthy mane. I love the entire Shea Moisture line, which includes food-based versions like coconut and hibiscus. I’m also a fan of the company’s coconut-based shave cream.

Burt’s Bees also has some great options if you want to give your hair a sweet treat — their shampoos and conditioners are infused with the likes of mango and pomegranate.

READERS’ TAKE: Do you have a favorite food-based beauty product? Tell us about it in the comments.

Stay beautiful,

Bethonie, S&P Beauty Contributor


Leave a Reply

