Borrowed From the Babes

Johnson's Baby Honey Apple Wash, $4.29, walgreens.com
Johnson’s Baby Honey Apple Wash, $4.29, walgreens.com

You know who has baby soft skin? Babies.

That’s why I sometimes hit up the baby care aisle when I’m looking for great skincare products. I’m that Auntie, who won’t let nary a paraben nor phthalate near my sister’s or close friends’ kids. We’re all very careful about what we put on our little ones, which makes baby products especially great for sensitive skin and all of you natural beauties out there. Another bonus? They’re usually budget-friendly, too.

Johnson’s is classic and I think we can all cop to using their baby oil or lotion as teenagers and, well, maybe even as adults. I personally love the scent of their Honey Apple Baby Wash. I’ve used it as a body wash and as a gentle cleaner for my makeup brushes.

Here are a few of my other baby-geared favorites:

Aden + Anais Mum + Bub Soothing Ointment ($15.95)

I use this soothing ointment on my lips. It keeps them moisturized (great for applying before bedtime). It contains fresh, fermented pawpaw fruit (that’s the Australian name for the Carica papaya plant). I’ve also used it to condition chapped hands and repair cracked heels. The 3oz tube is currently on sale for $8.98 at Babies “R” Us.

Aden + Anais Mum + Bub Soothing Ointment, $15.95, bloomingdales.com
Aden + Anais Mum + Bub Soothing Ointment, $15.95, bloomingdales.com

Shea Moisture Organic Red Bush & Babassu Baby Head-to-Toe Lotion ($10.29)

I’m obsessed with Shea Moisture haircare and skincare products. During one of my trips to the aforementioned baby care aisle, I discovered this lotion. It has a sweet, but subtle scent and it’s seriously moisturizing — and is paraben free.

Aveeno Baby Natural Protection Face Stick ($8.99)

These face sticks boast an SPF of 50. I’ve doled them out to my sister and friends’ for their toddlers. But I’ll admit to having one at the bottom of my purse during the summer months. It’s the perfect size to swipe on my freckled cheeks for extra sun protection. It’s also great for the back of your hands — your skin will thank you years from now.

Cara B Naturally Moisturizing Hair Mist ($10.00)

I don’t like a lot of products weighing down my blowouts or natural curls, so I’m a fan of lightweight products like this jojoba and almond oil-infused misting spray.

READER’S TAKE: Have you incorporated any baby products into your beauty routine? Share your favorites in the comments.

Stay beautiful,

Bethonie, S&P Beauty Contributor


Leave a Reply

