Product Review: GlamGlow Super-Mud Clearing Treatment

I love a good face mask and not just because I get to reenact this scene from Mrs. Doubtfire. (OK, it’s mostly that). But it’s nice to get the gunk out of my pores every now and then, so lately I’ve taken to doing a weekly face mask.

GlamGlow Super-Mud Clearing Treatment, $69, nordstrom.com
GlamGlow Super-Mud Clearing Treatment, $69, nordstrom.com

I’ve seen some rave reviews for GlamGlow’s Super-Mud, but at $69 per 1.2 oz jar it’s definitely a splurge. After being intrigued for months, I decided to go ahead and try it.

There are a lot of good things about this mask. I slathered it on my face and left it there for about 15 minutes. With other masks I’ve tried, the tingling has forced me to rinse it off earlier than planned, but that wasn’t the case here. It went on smooth, not goopy and I could instantly see imperfections (blackheads are my mortal enemy) come to the surface.

I removed the “mud” with a splash of water and a warm washcloth. My face had a nice healthy glow and felt incredibly soft. My nose felt noticeably smoother and I noticed that many of the blackheads were gone. And while it didn’t completely remove the unfortunate pimple developing on my chin, I’m convinced it helped it go away more quickly than it normally would have. The mask also seems to have helped shrink my pores.

Here's what the mask looks like on after five minutes.
Here’s what the mask looks like on after five minutes.

Some of the reviews I’ve seen online take issue with GlamGlow’s ingredients list — namely, that it contains several parabens. I’d be lying if I said all of my beauty products were natural or paraben free, but I understand the concern here.

Overall, I think I would buy this product again. It’s definitely a good substitute for regular facials and in comparison, the price isn’t so bad. GlamGlow also touts this as a good spot treatment, so you could make it last longer if you take that route, as opposed to using it as a full mask. It’s worth noting that I’ve seen some good discounts online — it’s currently selling for $38.36 at Amazon.com. And People StyleWatch is so in love with the product, they gave readers a special discount code.

GlamGlow also offers a sample package, which allows you to try the SuperMud Clearing Treatment and their YouthMud TingleExfoliate Treatment for a mere $11.99.

If you’re looking for more budget-friendly alternatives, I recommend Farmhouse Fresh’s Splendid Dirt, which rivals GlamGlow in its ability to instantly brighten your look. It also has a really yummy scent, reminiscent of pumpkin pie. That retails for $20. Aztec Secret Indian Healing Clay is just $7.95 at Amazon and I’ve seen it stocked at several Whole Food stores. It’s a powder that you have to mix with water (and apple cider vinegar, if you choose). The brand’s slogan is “The World’s Most Powerful Facial,” but it’s gentle enough for my combination skin.

Stay beautiful,

Bethonie, S&P Beauty Contributor


Leave a Reply

