Perfecting the Ultimate Accessory: Your Hair (Sponsored Post)

Let’s be honest. A woman’s hair is her biggest accessory. And when you’re having a bad hair day — no matter how cute your outfit is — everything else can feel a little off. I’m always on the hunt for products that will help keep my cropped coif looking fresh in-between my monthly salon visits. So, when I was contacted about testing out the Pantene Pro-V Truly Relaxed line of hair care products, which are formulated for chemically relaxed hair, I was game.

I’ve used Pantene products over the years and prior to chopping off my longer locks in 2007, I was a big fan of their volumizing shampoo and conditioner. The Truly Relaxed line, which is enriched with coconut and jojoba oils, includes an Intense Moisturizing Shampoo ($4.99), Moisturizing Conditioner ($4.99), Lightweight Shampoo ($4.99), and Oil Creme Moisturizer ($7.99). As someone with relaxed hair that can get really dry (especially as the seasons change), I was excited to give these products a try.

Pantene Pro-V Truly Relaxed hair care products

Pantene Pro-V Truly Relaxed hair care products (Photo: Stylin’ & Profilin’)

Luckily, I received them just as I’d run out of another brand of shampoo and conditioner — and happened to be in desperate need of a good wash. Like I said, my hair gets dry so the Pantene Pro-V Truly Relaxed Intense Moisturizing Shampoo and Moisturizing Conditioner immediately grabbed my attention. I noticed a difference right away in the texture of my wet hair after rinsing out the shampoo. It felt noticeably softer and smoother. Most other shampoo products I’ve tried recently have felt like they’ve stripped the moisture from my hair, so I’d go overboard with conditioner and hot oil treatments. That’s not necessary here.

Perfecting the Ultimate Accessory: Your Hair

BEFORE: Applying the Pantene Pro-V Truly Relaxed Oil Creme Moisturizer to my damp hair before blow drying it. (Photo: Stylin’ & Profilin’)

I followed up with a deep condition using the moisturizing conditioner. I worked it through from root to tip using a wide tooth comb and managed not to pull out any hair during this process. That almost never happens with other products I’ve tried — so I was impressed. After rinsing out the conditioner and giving my hair a light towel dry, I put a nickel-sized amount of the Pantene Pro-V Truly Relaxed Oil Creme Moisturizer in my damp hair. This is a protective styling technique I use with hair creams/lotions to prep my hair before blow drying it straight. Once my hair was dry and flat-ironed, I also used the oil creme moisturizer to tame the wayward edges I couldn’t get close enough to with my flat iron. And voila! I was done.

Perfecting the Ultimate Accessory: Your Hair

AFTER: My hair blown dry and flat-ironed. (Photo: Stylin’ & Profilin’)

Overall, I was really pleased with how my hair turned out and these products helped make doing it myself more manageable. However, I do wish there was a lightweight oil sheen as part of this line. Whenever I do my own hair I like to finish it off with a light spritz, because it adds an extra bit of shine. With these affordable price points, I’ll definitely be adding the Pantene Pro-V Truly Relaxed products to my hair care arsenal.

Check out the photos below for a close-up look at each of the products:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Keep it stylish,

Andrea, S&P Founder and Editor

Disclosure: This post was sponsored by Pantene through their partnership with POPSUGAR Select. While I was compensated to write a post about Pantene Truly Relaxed, all opinions are my own.

10 thoughts on “Perfecting the Ultimate Accessory: Your Hair (Sponsored Post)

  1. Inspired by your post, I just had to try the Pantene Co-Wash for Natural hair. Tried it out last night, the bottle emphasizes that the co-wash is “oil infused”. As I applied it to my hair I could tell there were added oils in the conditioner. Typically when I co-wash I end up adding additional essential oils to moisturize my hair while conditioning, this product already had essential oils in it. Needless to say, I LOVED IT!!!!! Will definitely be adding this product to my winter time regimen. Keeping natural hair moisturized in the winter time is vital, no damaged brittle hair over here!!!!

Leave a Reply

