Summer Beauty: The Natural Look

I know. I know. Just three weeks ago, I did a post about bright beauty and how obsessed I’ve been lately with colorful lip crayons. But that doesn’t mean I’ve given up on my go-to look, for which my goal is to look like I’m wearing essentially no makeup (you and I know the truth). That’s my official weekend beauty philosophy, too, and it makes complete sense in the summer, when you’re more prone to do outdoor activities.

These are the basics you need to achieve a natural look:

Josie Maran Coconut Watercolor Cheek Gelee, $22, sephora.com

Josie Maran Coconut Watercolor Cheek Gelee, $22, sephora.com

A Quick Corrector

Where’s the BB cream or tinted moisturizer that makes you feel fresh-faced? That’s your foundation for this look. If you’re not sure which one to choose, see my Coachella post. Make sure whatever you wear has a good amount of sunscreen (25 or higher). I’m loyal to Laura Mercier’s tinted moisturizer ($43) — it’s great for evening my skin tone, but doesn’t make me look like I’m wearing much of anything.

A Hint of Glow on Your Cheeks

A light dusting of bronzer does well for the natural look, but lately, I love Josie Maran’s Coconut Watercolor Cheek Gelee in Honeymoon Honey ($28). It’s a muted brown shade that will look good on a variety of skin tones.

A No-Fuss Mascara

I love the Kardashians, but they’re mascara game isn’t something I want to emanate when I’m seeking a more natural look. A cult classic like Maybelline Great Lash ($4.44) will never fail you. You can also play into your natural assets with Cover Girl Exact Eyelights Mascara ($7.24).

A Good Gloss

Laura Mercier Lip Balm SPF 15, $20, bloomingdales.com

Laura Mercier Lip Balm SPF 15, $20, bloomingdales.com

My lip gloss days are over (shoutout to MAC tinted lipglass in C-thru), but I can achieve a glossy look with a good lip balm — I like Laura Mercier’s lip balm ($20), which highlights my natural lip color. I also like to mix a nude lipstick with a clear balm. My current favorite is Bite Beauty’s creme lipstick in pepper ($24), topped with Josie Maran’s Argan Infinity Creamy Intensive Creamy Oil ($28). If you do go with a lipstick, a good rule of thumb is to look for something that mirrors the color of your tongue. If you want a hint of color, go with a blush or something slightly deeper (mauve or mocha), depending on your skin tone.

Let Your Hair Down

A topknot is a great option for a natural look, but if you want to really go natural, embrace (or give a nod to) your hair’s natural texture. My hair is somewhere in between naturally wavy and naturally curly, but the humidity doesn’t play nice with my hair, so in the summer, it’s much easier for me to deal with it if it’s blown out. To get a manageable wavy look, I’ll straighten my hair, then wrap sections around a hairband — for a great tutorial, see Sunnie Brook’s sleep curls video. You can also achieve a natural-looking wavy look by braiding your hair at bedtime. The results in the morning will be different for everyone, but that’s the best part.

Stay beautiful,

Bethonie, S&P Beauty Contributor

Leave a Reply

